Dunkirk Area Labor Council Scholarship Awarded to Three Local Students

Dunkirk Area Labor Council President Doug Stock recently presented the 2018 Dunkirk Area Labor Council Scholarship awards to three students - Jasmine Scheffer, Stephen Romanik Jr., and Tyler Lampert. This scholarship is one of over 180 scholarship funds held at the Northern Chautauqua Community Foundation.

Jasmine is a 2018 graduate of Silver Creek Central School and recently completed two years of Automotive Technology at the LoGuidice Educational Center. This past May, she began an internship with MIDAS to further her education and gain real-world experience. Jasmine is working towards her Automotive Technology degree at the University of Northwestern Ohio.

Stephen, also a graduate of Silver Creek Central School, has chosen to study Electrical Construction Maintenance at Alfred State College. During his two years at the LoGuidice Educational Center studying Construction Technology, he had the opportunity to participate in an internship program where he used his skills and knowledge in a work environment.

Tyler is a 2018 graduate of Fredonia Central School. During his time at the LoGuidice Education Center, he attended Auto Technology classes, learning multiple auto skills and building his self-confidence. This year he is a student at the University of Northwestern Ohio studying Diesel Technology. "I found that when you enjoy something so much, the research becomes easier and the results more rewarding," said Tyler in his application. "I see possibilities as being endless."

The Dunkirk Area Labor Council Scholarship is available to graduating seniors seeking an education in the trades or manufacturing technology. Students pursuing careers as electricians, machinists, pipe fitters, automotive workers, HVAC technicians, diesel mechanics and similar careers are encouraged to apply. Applications are due each May. Students are eligible to apply for this scholarship if they are enrolled in one of the following school districts: Erie 1 BOCES in Angola, Fredonia, Brocton, Cassadaga, Chautauqua Lake, Dunkirk, Forestville, Fredonia, Pine Valley, Silver Creek or Westfield.

The NCCF, incorporated in 1986, is a tax-exempt charitable organization.  Since its establishment, the NCCF has distributed more than $14 million in the community through its various grant programs.  It is an organization inherently committed to enriching the northern Chautauqua community and encouraging local philanthropy.  For more information on the NCCF, visit www.nccfoundation.org or call 716-366-4892.


Photo Caption: (l to r) Sean Brown (2017 Scholarship Recipient), Tyler Lambert, Jasmine Scheffer, and Stephine Romanik pose with Doug Stock (center), Dunkirk Area Labor Council President.